A- A+

About Uptown

Uptown District

Uptown Houston District

Formed in 1987 and the first district of its kind, the Uptown Houston District (Harris County Improvement District #1) is a political subdivision of the State of Texas created by a special act of the 70th Texas Legislature to provide a variety of services and improvements for Uptown Houston. Its primary focus and purpose is not to reduce public sector responsibilities, but to leverage public funds with coordinated private resources to improve facilities and services as well as accelerate area improvements.

The Uptown Houston District levies an ad valorem property tax and focuses its efforts on the following:

  • Traffic Operations / Public Safety
  • Public Maintenance and Beautification
  • Infrastructure Improvements
  • Economic Development, Marketing and Communications

A twelve-member Board of Directors appointed by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) governs the District.  Board members must be landowners, long-term tenants, or agents of landowners.